Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday SEO AMA: Joe Davis

My name is Joe Davis and I have over 18 years of experience working in digital marketing and web development. During that time, my company has developed numerous websites, internet platforms, strategic marketing plans and search engine optimization strategies for businesses of all sizes.

I love helping entrepreneurs shape and develop their ideas into viable businesses. This includes the entire process, from conceptualization all the way through to implementation. My areas of expertise include Web Development, Search Engine Optimization, Pay-Per-Click Advertising, Voice Over, Business Strategy and Dance Instruction (yes really – Salsa, Swing, Merengue and more…).

Ask me anything about SEO or anything else!

4 Likes

Hi @joedavis,

Do you see any pattern in the gaps entrepreneurs have in their plans to launch a business online? Where do people commonly go wrong?

2 Likes

Hey Steve,

Here are a few important ones.

1. Selecting the right domain. I look for short, memorable, easy to spell and no obvious misspellings. You don’t want people not able to find your business because they typed in the wrong url. Also, selecting something too generic means that it might not be able to be found in Google when they search for your business name because it’s too competitive a search terms.

2. Choosing the right hosting. The cheapest option often doesn’t come with great support (or server resources) which means when your site starts getting traffic and something goes wrong you want to be able to reach a helpful human quickly.

3. Assuming that your online will be driven by traffic from a search engine like Google. Even non-competitive search terms take a while to rank. Make sure you have multiple sources of traffic.