WebOps Wednesday AMA: Xinmei Tansey — Ask Me About Visual Design, UX/UI, or Studying Abroad

Hi! I’m Xinmei. I’m a Visual Designer with a few years of experience in the nonprofit sector. I come from a fine arts background as I studied oil painting at Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) in Baltimore, Maryland. That’s also where I discovered my passion for problem solving when I took a few graphic design courses. Since then I’ve worked as a designer on a marketing team and a web design & development team.

Currently I’m making a transition from Visual Design to UX and studying Interaction Design at Harbour Space in Barcelona. Ask me questions about design and studying abroad.

Let’s connect on LinkedIn!

2 Likes

Nice to meet you @xinmei.design
Are you in Barcelona now?

I went to an art school in my youth and studied glass blowing, we had to take painting classes as well…I admire you working in oil… I never got the hang of it.

3 Likes

Thanks for sharing @xinmei.design :heart:

McKenna here on the Community team :slight_smile: I work alongside @vee.vopham !

I always love hearing how people naturally progress into other spaces/roles. I am curious – what differences did you come across working as a designer supporting the marketing function VS working as a designer supporting the dev team?

On a more personal side, I am also a world traveler :earth_americas: What made you choose Barcelona? And where else have you traveled to?

2 Likes

Hi @xinmei.design! :wave: So happy to have you here for WebOps Wednesday. Thanks so much for your time! :partying_face:

I’d love to hear more about your grad school experience (and I’m sure others would as well!). What’s been your favorite class so far? Is there an area of UX/UI that you’re most interested about? What projects are you currently working on in school/that you’re particularly excited about?

1 Like

Nice to meet you too @volkswagenchick!