Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: Steve Persch

Hi I’m Steve Persch, Technical Product Marketing Manager here at Pantheon. I’ve been in that job all of one week! Before that, I spent 4 years in Developer Relations doing a mix of conference presentations, technical training, writing, and more.

In my new role I’ll have more time to focus on how Pantheon views WebOps teams driving results. In doing so, I’ll draw on my previous experience as a freelance and agency developer. I was an engineer and eventually a team lead for about 4 years at palantir.net, a Drupal-focused agency in Chicago.

Sometimes my work life is also informed by the 15 years I spent doing improv and sketch comedy through high school, college, and my early 20s in Chicago. A few months ago I did a five minute Ignite lightning talk about the Internet of Things at DevOpsDays as Al Gore that was well received. My presentation at DrupalCon this past year also covered how I used Continuous Integration as part of the migration of my old sketch comedy group’s site from Drupal 7 to Drupal 8.

About that or anything else, Ask Me Anything!

3 Likes

Hey, Steve! Your presentations are always enjoyable. Do you have any suggestions for developers wanting to improve their presentations?

1 Like

I’d love to hear your Drupal origin story!

1 Like

My main advice, which I need to follow more often myself, is to do multiple full run throughs of the presentation. And the earlier the better. You can even go as far as recording yourself so that you or others can watch it and give feedback.