Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: Rowan Weathers - Ask me about Calligraphy, Dancing, Jazz Improvisation, or Code (:

Hiya, I’m Rowan Weathers and I am a Senior Developer at Nice Touch. We are a small team of 7 who specialize in design, marketing/SEO, web/app development, photography, and video production in Portland, Oregon.

My days are spent creating WordPress themes and plugins as well as performing accessibility reviews. Well, I guess that’s how I’d say it if I were trying to be professional. Personally, I prefer more colorful language. So let’s just say that I write the codes and carry the bugs safely back to the wilderness. There, now doesn’t that sound so much better?

I mainly write HTML, CSS, PHP, and ES6+. I like to write extremely clean, machine-testable code composed of many small parts that do one thing well. I prefer the bouncer pattern over nesting levels of any depth. I like functions that only return values of a single type. I get extremely suspicious of any code that contains a singleton. I throw more exceptions than some fancy sports ball player throws sports balls. I use Visual Studio Code, even though I have a feeling that it’s really three word processors stacked inside a trench coat. And, just in case you were wondering, two spaces over tabs wins the day for me in all languages (:

If you want to know more about me, please view my Instagram Profile.
Hint: It’s not just pictures, I write lots of words there too.

Feel free to ask me anything …that doesn’t involve math!

1 Like

Hi Rowan! :wave: Thanks for sharing!

That has got to be my favorite re-quote + explanation of work of all time!! The real question is this – when you are not helping carry all the bugs safely back to the wilderness what do you enjoy doing in your free time?
:bug: :cricket: :beetle: :butterfly: :snail: :honeybee: