Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: Monica S. Flores

My name is Monica Flores, and for the past 15 years I’ve been using my technology skills to support organizations making a positive difference. I currently serve in the role of Technical Project Manager at Lullabot, a strategy, design, and development agency, where I manage digital platform development for our Fortune 100 clients.

In 2004, I started consulting as a self-taught web developer on PHP/mySQL and Wordpress, and moved to Drupal (monicadear) in 2008, eventually launching over two hundred websites for membership groups, non-profits, public agencies, startups, and e-commerce. In recent years I’ve led redesigns on Pantheon, for the sustainability and environmental justice non-profit Green America (view the case study), the entrepreneur program Global Innovation through Science and Technology Network (GIST) through the U.S. Department of State, and the social enterprise Changemakers at Ashoka: Innovators for the Public.

I’m currently on the leadership team of DCFemTech, VP Programs at my parent-teacher association, co-leader of a Girl Scouts troop, and member at The Wing, a network of work and community spaces supporting women. As individuals, we each have so much to offer: it’s important to identify our unique gifts, skills, and talents in order to share those with our communities.

I really enjoy building networks and have launched the Female Founders Network, written for The Nook Online women’s network, and served as chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion board committee at Green America. As part of Pantheon Hero status, I received a hosting package which now powers the TechWomxn.com platform, connecting designers, developers, project managers, content editors, and marketing and communications professionals with technology jobs, events, and resources.