Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: Kevin Fodness of Alley

Hi, I’m Kevin.

I am the Director of Software Development at Alley. I lead Alley’s JavaScript practice, developing everything from front-end data visualizations to full-stack JavaScript applications written in React and Node. I have delivered JavaScript customizations to the front-end and editorial experience for the Kaiser Family Foundation and The Brookings Institution, as well as a full-stack data visualization tool for the National Science Foundation. Additionally, I frequently develop custom Gutenberg solutions for WordPress sites.

I earned my PhD in Science and Technology Studies from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 2016, with a focus on web accessibility.

In my free time, I enjoy cooking and spending time with my wife and four children. I work from home on the banks of the Hudson River in the Lake George area of upstate New York.

Ask me anything!

Conversation notes:

• Have worked with WordPress since the early days
  • Authored a doctoral dissertation on web accessibility
  • Been building React apps for 4 years
  • Early adopter of Gutenberg editor in WordPress, building custom Gutenberg integrations for clients, and new sites Gutenberg-first
  • Work at Alley, fully remote for past 4 years
  • Has 4 kids, all of whom were homeschooled before COVID-19, and works from home
  • Loves to cook—makes, eats, and cleans up from 3 meals/day with my wife and kids, knows how to cook for a crowd, meal plan, buy food in bulk, etc
4 Likes

Hi, Kevin! Welcome to the Pantheon community & thank you so much for hosting an AMA today! :woman_cartwheeling:t2: I saw your webinar with @carolyn and learned so much–thanks for sharing your knowledge.

I am building a Gutenberg-first site now and am curious: What tips & tricks do you recommend for getting started? What are common mistakes you see?

AND (Do I get two questions? I don’t know!)