Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: Fatima Sarah Khalid

Hi, I’m Fatima Sarah Khalid, I’m a Developer Programs Engineer (DPE) on the Developer Relations team at Pantheon. DPE is an engineering role with a focus on Developer Relations, standing at the intersection of Pantheon and the developers who use it, bridging the gap between the people on both sides. I work on code to build developer tools, give talks, write documentation, and engage with the communities we work with.

I’ve been a part of the Drupal community for just over three years - since DrupalCon New Orleans and made an impact on both code and community. I’m an advisor on the Drupal Diversity & Inclusion working group (DD&I), a core contribution mentor, and three time scholarship recipient. I’ve also been interviewed by Acquia for their Women in Drupal series, been on the Drupal Easy podcast with a first time sprinters guide, am a track chair for the DrupalCon Minneapolis Development & Coding team, and gave the keynote at Midcamp 2019.

This past year, I was a Code for Canada fellow working with the Canadian federal government (Transport Canada) on building a digital tool to help drone pilots fly safely and within legal regulations. I also recently joined the Bad Idea Factory - a collective of chaotic creatives using technology to make people thinking face emoji.

I’m deeply committed to making technology spaces more inclusive and passionate about civic technology and open source. I’m also the WCT 2018 Rising Star of Canada :star2:

In my spare time, I’m an escape room aficionado, love video games, tennis, and axe-throwing. My beloved father passed away earlier this year and it’s been a really difficult few months dealing with grief and loss. My father loved me very much and I know he’d want me to be happy :slight_smile: and so I just moved to the Bay Area a few weeks ago and I’m hopeful for new adventures.

Ask me about civic tech, community building, escape room strategies - or ask me anything!