WebOps Wednesday AMA: Elda Schaffield

Hi, I’m Elda Schaffield, a software engineer, full-stack developer, and manager working at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

I’m originally from Cuba, where I studied math & computer engineering, and I learned the art of problem solving. One day, while looking at the beautiful blue sky, I made the decision to move to another country. Mexico was my next destination, an incredible place with rich cultural traditions, super yummy food, hard working people, and tons of colorful stuff. I finished the computer engineering degree in Mexico City which later on allowed me to land my first job as a software engineer in the United States, writing software for routers at Ericsson. Independently, I learned about web development using content management systems, while creating sites for several local non-profit organizations. My next job was all about Drupal and here we are, connected through Pantheon, and sharing our journeys. Each country provided a new experience, a new opportunity to learn, and new challenges.

Now comes the fun part:

• when I ask for butter but they bring me water instead
  • when I first arrived in the US and tried to pronounce “Gurvesh” but I ended up calling my coworker “garbage”… and that was how I learned English, with engineers from India
  • when working as a volunteer in an archeological project in Peru, looking for Sican period ovens, I ended uncovering an altar with offerings next to a cemetery
  • when I visited an active volcano in the island of Vanuatu and I learned about the John Frum movement

Ask me anything about my African Gray parrot or Burning Man or simply share something fun about yourself!

3 Likes

Hi Elda! :wave:

Thanks so much for sharing! UCSB, what a beautiful campus! How long have you been working in Higher Ed?

When I first arrived in the US and tried to pronounce “Gurvesh” but I ended up calling my coworker “garbage”… and that was how I learned English.