Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: Edward Angert - Roller Skates, Recipes, and Everyday Documentation

Hello this is Edward. I’m a Technical Writer here at Pantheon.

Among other things and sometimes concurrently, I’ve been a library page (I put books away), an usher at a concert venue (please, right this way), a roller skating instructor, a library tech person, a Starbucks barista, and a non-profit office admin+ (because you’re never just one thing at a small non-profit). Now I’m a dog-dad, a human-dad, and a full-time Edward, oh and a Technical Writer at a WebOps platform.

In my free time, I like practicing Brazilian jiu-jitsu (hopefully again soon), cycling, bouldering, trying to put the things I disassemble back together (an espresso machine, furniture, roller skates…), trying to bring people together, and writing detailed instructions about mundane activities.

So,

• Want to know how to do a triple Axel?
  • Wish that recipe was both shorter and worked better, but can’t put your finger on how?
  • Want to engage in a debate about whether or not it’s technically correct to use apostrophes where’d usually be a coupl’a words? Think I shouldn’t’ve put so many apostrophes in a single combination?

We’re both in for a treat if your answer is yes.

5 Likes

Is Brazilian jiu-jitsu different from other kinds of jiu-jitsu? What do you like about it?

2 Likes

Hi Carolyn! That’s a good history question that I don’t know enough to answer super well, but from what I remember, where Japanese jiujitsu (in all its spellings) was formed to help defend against unarmed attackers in battle, BJJ is a relatively new fork of that repo with many branches that still focus on self-defense, and others more geared to sport (scoring points, winning competitions).