Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: David Needham

Hello! My name is David Needham and I’m a Developer Advocate at Pantheon.

I’ve been building Drupal and WordPress websites for about 12 years, but I’ve had many more opportunities to contribute since joining Pantheon ~3 years ago. I help organize events (including WordCampUS and MidCamp), speak, run training workshops, and help mentor new members of the community.

I take what I learn by being active in the community back to Pantheon so that we’re staying relevant and building tools that are solving real problems. On an average day you’ll find me working on Pantheon’s training curriculum or leading a workshop. Training is a shortcut to success, and I love helping people be susccessful!

Away from the computer, I enjoy board games, experimenting with productivity, and hanging out with my bicycle-loving family. I also volunteer with The Girl Who Wore Freedom, a WWII documentary telling the stories of the French people and the veterans who liberated them.

Ask me anything! I’m happy to talk about all of the above, as well as my perspective on Pantheon, what exactly “WebOps” means to me, or where my favorite life hacks. (I recently put together a presentation on “Tips, Tricks, and Tools” related to presenting that hasn’t been used, so I’m rearing to share that!)

3 Likes

Hi, David! Thanks for hosting today.

I’d love to hear your life hack for all your life hacks–I’m always impressed by what appears to be continuous improvement in the way you do things. How do you track all the awesome ideas you hear about? How do you come across so many awesome ideas in the first place?!

1 Like

I’d love to hear more about the Mac apps you use to optimize your computing experience. There’s always something new out there and I’m sure you have some smart ideas!

2 Likes

I love board games too, so I know how this could be a tough one, but what’s your favorite board game? Or, to help, what is your current favorite?