Pantheon Community

WebOps Wednesday AMA: Carolyn Shannon

Hi I’m Carolyn Shannon, Manager of Technical Documentation at Pantheon. I’ve been here for six weeks! Before that, I was a Pantheon Hero and customer. I’ve focused for the last decade on building Drupal and WordPress websites, developing enterprise information architecture, content strategy, and editorial training for my local municipality. Before that, I was a developer and network manager. I’m a writer, trainer, Drupalista, former NAGW board member, and passionate evangelist about how good user experience creates loyal customers and drives results.

In my new role I’ll focus on how Pantheon’s documentation helps cross-functional teams be successful. Combining a “docs as code” collaborative editorial model and Pantheon’s automation tools for testing and delivery, Pantheon’s TechDocs embraces WebOps best practices.

In my spare time, I’m a runner and mitten-knitter (though not usually at the same time) and enjoy music, poetry, and hiking with my family.

Ask Me Anything!

3 Likes

Hi @carolyn! Can you tell us more about the “Docs as code” model? What parts of that support collaborative editorial processes? How can a WebOps team start implementing this model?

1 Like

Hi @steve.persch! Thanks for asking.

Docs-as-code is the idea that teams should write documentation with the same tools as code. It’s centered around three principles:

• Promote collaboration & empower developers, who write much of the documentation. WebOps is about empowering cross-functional teams, and docs-as-code prioritizes “putting the team at the top of the stack” (to borrow a phrase) by going where the experts are, enabling version control and favoring plain-text markup that make changes transparent and gets everything else out of the editorial team’s way.